A new sensation….This is unnatural

So I thought I would add this note. I went to see some friends last nite and the place where we met, was pretty close to the BMO stadium, Toronto’s own football (sorry I mean soccer) stadium for the Toronto FC. The place was a complete zoo and I only managed to find a parking spot about a 15 minute walk away. It was after 7pm so already dark and as I’m making my way through the crowds walking in the opposite direction, I had this group of your-ish drunk people walking in walk past me and one of them looked at me and said “I’d Fuc* you….. Yeah me too – followed by his buddy). I felt upset and scared a bit for 2 reasons. These guys could easily grab me and if a hand lands in an inappropriate place, things could get ugly. Never mind that they are rude and I never got behaviour like that, but it could get really ugly if my secret is revealed. This is a new sensation for me as I’ve never really experience being scared on the street by myself and I don’t like it and feel sorry for the women as this is probably a fairly common occurrence.

On another note, I was chatting with a work associate of mine today who happens to be gay and have been having a lot of issues with close family. I feel really bad for him because I feel a bit lucky, since my family is on the other side of the Atlantic and people have been OK with me lately. Apparently his parents keep telling him that his being gay is wrong and unnatural, which is pretty sad because I don’t think you can reason with people like that and it reminded me of a quote by Sam Harris 

I guess he’s right….

 

bear

Artwork by Paul Lachine

 

2 thoughts on “A new sensation….This is unnatural”

Leave a Reply

